From the Mailbag: “It kinda seemed like you misunderstood.”

Anonymous asked:

I’m not trying to sound rude or anything, but it kinda seemed like you misunderstood that x men days of future past gifset. Charles and Erik aren’t just fighting over some “chick”. They’re fighting about Raven, Charles’ sister who left with Erik at the end of x men first class. Have you seen it…? If you did I think you’d understand a bit better. Again I’m really really not trying to sound rude so I’m sorry if I do but I just though I’d clarify a little bit.

Hello, and thank you for your question!

To clarify my previous statements: Yes, I have seen First Class, and yes I am aware that the “fucking chick” in question is Raven Darkholme (a.k.a. Mystique) who was retconned to be Charles Xavier’s foster sister in First Class.

However, in my opinion, none of that changes the catastrophic narrative damage that would be created by making the dispute between Xavier and Magneto be about a woman (or even in part about a woman). To make the dispute have its root in their argument over Mystique would have the effect of cheapening their rivalry—which always had its basis in a fundamental difference of opinion over how to achieve mutant prosperity on a national and international level (and not about arguments over women). Furthermore the “women are the root of all evil” trope (strongly implied in the idea that these two men got into a long-standing grudge match because of a woman) is tired, petty, and sexist.

First Class was an enjoyable movie in many ways, but it had the misfortune of being extremely sexist and racist in some of its tropes (something that is hugely and tragically ironic in view of the fact that the X-Men comic books were in part written to explore issues brought to light by the Civil Rights Movement of the 1960s). I’m sincerely hoping that Days of Future Past does not follow suit, but that gifset is frankly not giving me hope.

Still, I could be wrong. It is only one gifset. Perhaps the argument over Raven will be overshadowed by the larger philosophical disagreement. Nevertheless, the fact that it is there at all leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

EDIT: The gifset in question (and my initial commentary about it) is here.

Originally posted here.
Leave a Reply

