From the Mailbag: “Is your Bucky theory good or bad?”

Anonymous asked:

Is your Bucky theory good or bad? Coz I can’t imagine what good could come out of Bucky dying all over Secret Wars and not having any titles in All New Marvel unless it’s like a complete overhaul of the character so they can start fresh… or they’re just doing away with him altogether, but that makes no sense. You’d think they’d treat him kinder with how popular he got again with MCU. Idk I just want him to live and not be shit on, lol.

I want Bucky to live and not be shit on, too!

But I gotta tell you that my Bucky theory is not good. It may, I admit, smack of paranoia. As I said in my post, I feel like I need to see the end of Secret Wars and take stock of everything before I put my theory out, but there does seem to be a decided pattern at work.

Bucky was heavily teased as a character in both Witch Hunter Angela and Red Skull. He died immediately (and horrifically) in the first issues of both. Saving Bucky was the driving force behind Planet Hulk. He turned out to have been dead all along. He’s dead (as far as we know) in 1872, he just died in Runaways, and my pet theory for Civil War is that he’s been replaced by a skrull and has probably been dead for a long time there as well. (Because him being on Tony Stark’s side just makes no sense at all; but a skrull version of him being on Tony Stark’s side because Steve would have pegged him immediately as a fake does make sense.) Meanwhile, the 616 Bucky presumably died with everyone else in the Incursion.

Of course, no one really stays dead in a comic book, and Bucky has become very popular through the films so we’ll probably see him again at some point. But his Secret Wars appearances have the feel of a very pointed running gag. I have a theory about why Marvel might have chosen to do this, but. I need to see the end of the crossover before I wade into the issue.

Thanks for your question!

Originally posted here.
One thought on “From the Mailbag: “Is your Bucky theory good or bad?”

Leave a Reply

