NaNoWriMo Playlist

Happy Hallowmass!

I decided to take the the NaNoWriMo challenge this year, which will be an interesting exercise in discipline as well as a means of kicking off work on my next fiction project. This isn’t my first attempt, I participated twice before (and even won once), but it’s been a very long time since I had space in my life to do so, and I’m very much looking forward to it.

As part of my prep for this year’s round of novel-writing, I decided to make a music mix that would serve as both a soundscape for my writing practice and a map of the novel’s tonal—and narrative—trajectory as I currently perceive it. Each song in the 22-track playlist is associated with a specific character, theme, or narrative beat and organized into a roughly chronological (as far as I understand the chronology at this point) framework. Interestingly, the very process of articulating a soundtrack for the novel has proved to be an extremely effectively means of laying the basic groundwork upon which the story will rest. Music does illuminate…

Tracklisting:
Tonight You Belong To Me Eddie Vedder (feat. Cat Power) | Play Dead Björk | Broken DAAU (feat. An Pierlé) | Darkening of the Light Concrete Blonde | On Planet Off The Notwist | Fear of Ghosts The Cure | Linoleum Tweaker (feat. David Sylvian) | Pity Dance DM Stith | The Children Yeasayer | Incubus Recoil (feat. Douglas McCarthy) | Your Protector Fleet Foxes | (In)Reverse Sister Crayon | Swords Leftfield (feat. Nicole Willis) | Hollow Hills Bauhaus |Scope J  Ute Lemper | Ornaments of Gold Siouxsie & the Banshees | To Be Alone With You Sufjian Stevens | The Believers How to Destroy Angels | The Pool Tori Amos | Phantom Walls The The | Leaving Hope Nine Inch Nails | Teardrop José González

Leave a Reply

